Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.
You are here

Board and organization

The BECC board

Henrik Smith - Coordinator
Professor, Department of Biology/Centre for Environmental and Climate research, Lund University

Håkan Pleijel - Coordinator Gothenburg
Professor, Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences, University of Gothenburg

Anna Maria Jönsson - Deputy Coordinator
Professor, Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University

Cecilia Larsson
PhD student, Centre for Environmental and Climate research, Lund University

Fariborz Zelli
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Lund University

Edith Hammer
Associate senior lecturer, Department of Biology, Lund University

Johan Ekroos
Researcher, Centre for Environmental and Climate research, Lund University

Cecilia Akselsson
Senior lecturer, Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University


The BECC Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is envisaged to support the board of BECC in developing and monitoring research within the programme in harmony with the strategic goals and objectives and the overall vision to develop an environment for the pursuit of world-leading inter- and transdisciplinary research on ecosystem services and biodiversity in a changing climate.

BECC's SAB consists of

Bridget Emmett, Soils and Land Use, UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, Bangor

Bridget Emmett is a Professor and Science area head of the UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology in Bangor. She is also the Head of Soils and Land Use Bangor site. Her main research interests are: impact of land management on natural capital and ecosystem services, change in soil structure and function, impacts of nitrogen pollution, and impacts of climate change on soils and ecosystem function. Her work is focussed on supporting policy development and improving the evidence base. She is a member of a wide range of committees and panels and was the Specialist Adviser for the UK Parliamentary Inquiry into Soil Health in 2016. Current membership includes the EU Mission Board on Soil Health and Food.

Josef Settele, Department of Community Ecology, Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ), Halle, Germany

Josef Settele is a Professor at the Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research. His main research interests are: conservation and evolutionary biology of insects, and biodiversity and land use. He has been involved in several interdisciplinary cooperation projects as well as being the coordinator of major EU-projects. He has been lead author in the IPCC report 2010-2014 (chapter 04 “Terrestrial and inland water systems) and in IPBES report 2015-2018 (chapter 2 Drivers of pollination and pollinator change and chapter 4 Drivers). He was the Co-chair of IPBES 2016-2019.

Anne-Sophie Crépin, Beijer Institute of Ecologcial Economics, Sweden

Anne-Sophie Crépin is an Associate Professor at, and Deputy Director of, the Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics. She is also a member of the Strategic Advisory Committee at the Stockholm Resilience Centre, representing the Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics. Her research focuses on the interplay between economic incentives, ecosystem regime shifts, policy, and human behaviour. She is a regular member of the scientific committee of the annual conference of the European Association of Environmental and Resources Economists, the World Congress in Environmental and Resource Economics, and the Resilience Conference.

Page Manager: